Today I’m bowing to Anita Baker

For this Black history month I’m committed to honoring and meditating on artists who are alive. Today I’ve chosen the beautiful Anita Baker.

I’ve loved Anita Baker’s voice since I was a child. Now that I am a woman, her story has been one of my main inspirations, especially when people close to me do not support my writing. People told Anita Baker she could not sing and she struggled to finally find a record label. Now Anita Baker is among the who’s who of recording artists, with a voice that cannot be duplicated.

Today I’d like to honor Anita Baker because I am grateful she believed in her gift enough not to give up on her dream. I’m celebrating her determination and perseverance by sharing this dedication to her, where other well known artists praise her by singing some of her most memorable songs.

Leave a Reply

