On the Lammys, writing, and faith

I wish I’d had the opportunity to meet more publishers and writers. So I take every opportunity I can to reconnect or read about other’s who were there.

Courtney Gillette

Lambda-Medal

[NB: Scroll down for a list of this year’s winners, and links to purchase those books from an indie bookstore!]

A while ago, I threw my hat into the ring for a grant that I didn’t get, but one of the judges for that grant had kind things to say, notably that there were so many strong applications, so not being chosen did not necessarily mean my work was without merit. I always paused in the cynicism of my heart when hearing this condolence. Could it be true?

Last night I attended the 26th annual Lambda Literary Awards, and had the pleasure this year of serving as a judge. This experience has taught me that it is true — it is so true. There is more talent in the queer literary world than there are awards. Serving as a judge introduced me to scores of poets and writers I hadn’t heard…

View original post 994 more words

Leave a Reply

