Research: An Accidental Introduction to Native American History

cp05013vResearching, I arrived at a list of American wars. There were so many tribe wars.  The majority of these wars I’ve never heard of.  I am so overwhelmed by this information I had to share.  Especially this, America fought seven tribes during the Civil War. I don’t even know which army fought those wars, considering how strained resources were by the Civil War. Over all, it’s crazy how history changes based on who is telling the story.

I consider all the movies I’ve seen set in the 1800’s, depicting Native Americans as hostile and aggressive. So, I’m thinking, it must not be common knowledge that America was initiating wars almost yearly with different tribes from 1813 to about 1891 to take their land and force them in confined spaces.  America didn’t call Native Americans to battle fields, they attacked their tribes. Native American women, children and elderly were killed in those wars.

I’m probably saying something you already know, but I needed write it down somewhere, so I could process.  I’ve never considered the way Native Americans were portrayed in movies.  In school and college, the few mentions of the atrocities committed against them dismissed the actual genocide and century of terror that occurred.  I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone challenge the false depictions of them as bloodthirsty savages. While Native Americans were actually being forced to defend themselves against bloodthirsty savage armies better armed. Of course there were going to be confrontations and conflicts anytime Native Americans saw wagons passing through their tribal area.

Also, I’m wondering if all Americans were aware these wars were happening during the time.  I’m wondering if the government also painted Native Americans as the aggressors during the time.  Every movie I’ve seen portrayed white people as being afraid to travel.  I wonder if painting Native Americans as the aggressor and hostile wasn’t apart of dehumanizing them so people would NOT question America’s use of force.  Then again, slavery was legal so I guess I can’t speak to the conscience of America.  It may have been a well known fact that Native American land was being confiscated violently, since one race believed they were entitled to rape, buy and sell and work people without pay.  When I consider it all, I’m almost sure America was  completely at peace with taking whatever they deemed necessary and praying to Jesus to give them strength before initiating war.

Leave a Reply

