The Artist’s Way

artistswayA friend is taking a creative writing class and said she was using this book. I picked the book up and started doing some of the exercises.  One of them is to help you get unblocked. It’s working. I’m definitely being more freer… not just in my art but also in life. I’m making changes I say I want to do but never actually set a date to get to it…

You are suppose to write three pages by hand every morning. I have to get up at like 3 am so I’m not getting up at 2:30 am to do it.  However I have actually done them a few times before work… And I kind of wrote about how I’m slowly coming into it. I don’t know. I’m not going to say what I won’t do.  What I have been doing is writing every day three pages as I committed to do for the next 12 weeks.  So I don’t actually write in the morning but I’m writing… And you can write whatever is on your heart. You aren’t necessarily suppose to come back and read it. It’s more of getting whats on your mind out of the way.

I’ve got to get some rest, but I wanted to blog about this because it feels like it’s changing my writing.

To be honest, I’m feeling freer but I’m not writing what I want to write.  I had a horrible writing session the other day… However, I’m forcing myself to have writing sessions. I’ve got to set some writing dates with myself too.

I’m hopeful. I feel more confident.  So I’d recommend it.

 

(Disclaimer: This particular post may be riddled with errors. I decided I wanted to share what I was doing… but I wasn’t going to stress… I’m not here for that.)

Wishing everyone more great ideas and free flowing thought on to the page or canvas or whatever medium of expression you use. Love

 

Leave a Reply

